
 

 

TAX SALE INFORMATION 
 

 

 

 

 

What is a Tax Sale? 

 

 

By Illinois State Statutes {35ILCS200} the county collector/treasurer is required to sell any taxes that have not 

been paid in full for the current tax year. 

 

• We do not sell the house; again, we sell only the unpaid taxes. 

• At the sale, a tax buyer pays/buys the taxes, then the county collector distributes the money from the 

sale to each of the taxing bodies to make them whole. 

• After the sale is completed the homeowner of record deals directly with the Williamson County Clerk's 

office for the redemption. 

• The longer time between the sale and redemption, the higher the penalty is likely to be. 

• Hopefully, this sheds a little light on the tax sale process. If you have questions or concerns, please call 

the Treasurer's Office at 618-998-2142. 

 

 

 

Pre-Sale Information 

 

2020 Tax Sale Date:  Thursday, December 10, 2020 

 

Location:   Williamson County Administrative Building 

 

Persons interested in participating in this year's sale: 

 

Registration is October 26, 2020 through November 23, 2020 



 

 

 

We strongly advise you to read the Illinois Statutes pertaining to the tax sale {35ILCS200}. 

• Complete the Application for Delinquent Property Tax Sale and W-9 form. A $500 deposit is required. 

• If you attend the entire sale, but are unable to purchase any taxes, your deposit will be refunded. 

• An additional $200 fee will be charged to the buyers interested in obtaining a delinquent tax list. This 

$200 is optional for tax sale participants. Upon completing the application and making the payment, 

Joseph E Meyer & Associates will contact you via e-mail for the requested format of the list 

• Important: The tax sale list that is provided to you should be used for the sole purpose of the 

delinquent tax sale. Use of this information for any other purpose is strictly prohibited. The County 

Treasurer has the authority to deny the sale of this list to anyone who violates this rule. 

 

 

 

 

 

Tax Sale Proceeds 

 

 

The Tax Lien Sale will begin at 9:00 am on December 10th and will continue until all tax sale liens are 

offered. 

 

• The sale is an automated computer system that will enable the buyer to bid on a parcel electronically. 

• Lap top computers will be provided to each buyer (demo can be seen at www.iltaxsale.com) 

• Bidding starts at 18% and taxes are sold to the first lowest bidder. 

• Any parcel not sold will become the property of Williamson County as Trustee. 

• Seating is based on first come first serve. Doors will open at 8:00 am. 

• Any corrections must be completed before the sale has ended. 

• Buyers are expected to make full payment by the end of the sale. 

 

Some parcels listed may not be offered at the sale for the following reasons: 

Paid by owner, bankruptcy, forfeiture, exempt, foreclosure, court orders and other reason required by 

law. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

General Rules After the Sale 

 

Those that participated in the sale must have payments for purchases posted in the Williamson County 

Clerk's Judgment Book. 

 

• Reports of taxes bought by the tax buyers will be available after the sale. 

• Certificates will be sent certified mail after they have been verified. 

• We strongly advise that you read the Illinois Statutes pertaining to the tax sale {35/LCS200} 

• Tax Sale Registration Form 

• W-9 Form 

• Tax Sale Seminar Presentation 

 

 

 

Illinois Compiled Statutes 

 

For a list of Illinois Compiled Statues, please visit the following link: 

 

View Illinois Compiled Statutes https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=596&ChapterID=8 
 

 

https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=596&ChapterID=8

